Adventures in Dog Hair Spinning – Part 5

So now that all of my dog hair had been spun, I was dying to get it on some needles and make something out of it! I didn’t have a whole lot of yarn, so I decided to try socks and see how that went. Since this was my first time spinning dog hair, I was still a little wary of the smell and feel of the yarn, too. So I thought sock would be a good first thing to try.

Sock made out of Dog Hair

My first dog hair yarn sock! Very warm!

Here’s a proud picture of my first clothing item made out of dog hair!

As you can see, the cuff is made from the 100% German Shepherd dog hair, while the rest of the sock is made out of the half dog hair and half wool.

Over all, I’m pretty happy with the finished product, but there are a few things that I think I will do differently the next time around.

First, I think I’ll be more careful about making sure all the guard hairs are taken out of the fluffy hair before starting to spin it. These coarse guard hairs make the sock a little bit on the itchy side because they poke you if you are wearing them next to your skin. It’s not a problem if you have socks underneath, though, and are wearing them more like slippers.

I also think I might try making a sock completely out of pure dog hair, without the wool. But that will only work if I have enough dog hair. Guess we’ll have to see how much I can get off the dogs this spring! I’m looking forward to starting the process all over again to see if I can make an even better product. Maybe I’ll even try making a scarf! Ooooh, daring! (On second thought, I’m thinking a scarf may not be the best choice, what with the smell of dog and all.)

About Donielle Mohs

Donielle Schipper is the owner of KnittingKnicely. She enjoys homeschooling her six children. Her passions are teaching others about healthy lifestyle options, knitting, crocheting, and playing flute.
This entry was posted in My Personal Yarn, Spinning Yarn and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

