Adventures in Dog Hair Spinning – Part 4

Sorry it’s been such a long time since I posted about this dog hair spinning adventure I had last year. I’ll try to finish it up here!
Last post I was just picking up the hand spindle and getting ready to start spinning the dog hair. This is the best part!
I had a little bit of wool yarn on my spindle to start off the dog hair. So I put a spin on the spindle and held up one of the dog hair punis so that it would catch on to the wool on the spindle and begin twisting with it. It worked pretty well (whew!) so I continued feeding the dog hair into the spin, a small amount at a time. In contrast with spinning wool, I had to keep my hands pretty close to each other… only about an inch apart, since the dog hair is shorter than most wool. But I was rather happy with the result!

Skein and Spindle of Dog Hair

Skein of Two Ply Pure Dog Hair Yarn

Here is a picture of a small skein that I finished. The yarn that is in the skein has been plied, but the yarn still on the spindle is still single ply.
After I had made a skein of pure dog hair, I decided I wouldn’t have quite enough yarn to make a complete pair of socks out of pure dog hair. So I spun some wool and plied it with the dog hair.

 

 

Pure Dog Hair Yarn and 50/50 Dog Hair/Wool Yarn

Pure Dog Hair and Wool/Dog Hair Yarn

Here is a picture of the dog hair and wool plied together. I really liked the look of this two colored yarn and I also knew that the wool would give a little more stability, as well as elasticity, to the dog hair yarn.

About Donielle Mohs

Donielle Schipper is the owner of KnittingKnicely. She enjoys homeschooling her six children. Her passions are teaching others about healthy lifestyle options, knitting, crocheting, and playing flute.
This entry was posted in My Personal Yarn, Spinning Yarn, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

