Nursing Shirt Project with Kuka Summer Mercerized Yarn

I had lots of yarn left (over half!!) from crocheting my Mari Nursing Wrap, so I decided to make a matching nursing top. The pattern isn’t actually a nursing top pattern per se, but it is a simple open-front type shirt with a few frog buttons at the top, so I figured it would work well as a nursing top anyway.

I’ve always enjoyed knitting a little more, simply because of the infinite possibilities of stitches and also because it produces a little bit finer fabric than crocheting, but I must admit, it’s kinda nice taking a little break from knitting and doing a few things with crochet. The stitches I’m using are really beautiful; ones I’ve never had a chance to try before. And since the Kuka Summer Mercerized yarn I’m using is much finer than what I usually use for crochet, the resulting fabric does not have the thickness that I normally associate with crochet.

Part of Back of Nursing Top

Click on picture to see stitch close up.

I’ve only gotten part of the back done, but I’m already very excited to get the project done and try it out. Baby will be here soon (end of month!!! Yikes!), so I don’t have much more time, and that’s actually a good thing! I plan to post pictures of the progress, so stay tuned, if you’re interested! The pattern is actually from Interweave Crochet Magazine Fall 2009, and its the Szechuan Sweater pattern. I like the fact that the front is open, so I don’t have to lose all the baby fat before being able to wear it.

About Donielle Mohs

Donielle Schipper is the owner of KnittingKnicely. She enjoys homeschooling her six children. Her passions are teaching others about healthy lifestyle options, knitting, crocheting, and playing flute.
This entry was posted in My Personal Yarn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

