How I Got Started Knitting

When I was around 9 years old, we used to visit with one of my mom’s friends. She must have been a knitter, because I became interested in knitting after visiting with her. I asked my mom to teach me how to knit. I don’t remember the exact circumstances, as it was so long ago, but I do remember being absolutely fascinated with knitting from the very beginning.

The first project I remember spending hours on was a scarf. I still remember it was called “Butterfly Scarf” and it was definitely not a pattern for a beginner. But I was up for the challenge, and eventually finished it. Mind you, it was full of holes and the edges were far from straight, but it was a great learning experience and from then on, I haven’t lost my passion for knitting fun and interesting patterns that challenge me.

So that’s how my relationship with knitting started, and now I have the awesome privilege of providing a way for other people to experience the fun and relaxation that a little knitting can bring. I recently launched a new Etsy store, Knitting Knicely, that will eventually have many of different hand knitted items, most of which will be customizable, available at low prices.

Come visit my shop frequently, as I will be adding new items regularly!

About Donielle Mohs

Donielle Schipper is the owner of KnittingKnicely. She enjoys homeschooling her six children. Her passions are teaching others about healthy lifestyle options, knitting, crocheting, and playing flute.
This entry was posted in My Personal Yarn and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How I Got Started Knitting

  1. Karen Mohs says:

    Such happy and very treasured memories! You were an eager learner with perseverence. It was a pleasure to knit with you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

